Home » News » Degenerates Unite! Sean Tyas Releases Debut Artist Album – Degeneration

Degenerates Unite! Sean Tyas Releases Debut Artist Album – Degeneration

Sean Tyas is a name that more often than not tends to appear on a list of favourite DJs, and with good reason. The New York born and bred producer, who currently resides in Teufen, Switzerland, is a force to be reckoned with.

As a highly respected international DJ, an absolute genius in the studio, the brains behind a series of wildly successful radio podcasts, the label boss of the exceptional Tytanium Recordings and a veteran of the Trance scene for more than a decade, it is safe to say that his achievements have made him a legendary and well-respected figure within the industry.

Having released a succession of immensely memorable tracks such as “Lift”, “Banshee”, “Drop” and more recently, “Da Doo Da Dah”, Tyas has proven himself to be more than capable of destroying dancefloors around the world. So how does someone who has seen and done pretty much everything in the industry continue to innovate and inspire? By releasing their debut artist album, of course!

A reimagination of the Tyas brand has taken effect over the past 15 months, beginning with the phasing out of Tytanium Sessions. The inception of the Degenerate Radio podcast as its replacement has overseen the shift towards a darker and techier sound more commonly associated with releases from earlier in his career. Having also dabbled with electro productions earlier in the decade, Tyas has managed to successfully fuse both aspects into what has now become his new signature sound.

In orchestrating the reimagination of his signature sound, Tyas has also dabbled in a multitude of different genres and sub-genres of electronic music such as Drum & Bass, Psy Trance and elements of Dubstep, all of which are featured on his debut artist album, Degeneration.

Those familiar with his work under the Degenerate brand over the past year would have come across some of the tracks featured on this album compilation as they were previously released as part of two separate Degeneration EPs (aptly named Volume One and Volume Two respectively), but the album compilation also showcases previously unreleased and upcoming tracks and remixes which will surely delight fans of Tyas’ work.

In his own words, the man explains the creative process that underpins the album compilation:

“I guess I’ve always been known for a certain style of music but making an artist album was always going to be a chance to breach boundaries. Degeneration was therefore my blank canvas. No rules or regulations, no genre or bpm limitations. This was me exploring how deep the rabbit hole really went.”

The album, which features 26 original tracks and remixes as well as one continuous mix across two discs, is seen as the collective representation of everything that encompasses the Degenerate sound that Tyas is looking to convey.

The tracklist for the two-disc compilation is as follows:

Sean Tyas – Degeneration

Disc 1:

01. Vagabond (6:31)
02. Swarm (5:20)
03. Diffuse (4:36)
04. 9am (7:10)
05. Something In The Way (with Fisher) (Original Mix) (8:11)
06. Rollout (6:57)
07. Da Doo Da Dah (Original Mix) (7:10)
08. Start Over (featuring Cindy Zanotta) (8:32)
09. Hive [A] (6:52)
10. Reach Out (6:58)
11. Ambush (6:06)
12. Way Down In Mexico (7:15)
13. Kontrast (4:00)
14. Full Stop (3:05)
15. Degeneration (Continuous Mix) (76:59)

Disc 2:

01. Vagabond (Future Disciple Remix) (8:21)
02. 9am (Dualitic Remix) (8:02)
03. Unleash (Alex Di Stefano Remix) (8:25)
04. Reach Out (Giuseppe Ottaviani Remix Edit) (3:46)
05. Swarm (Eshericks Remix) (5:44)
06. Ambush (Reaky Remix) (6:37)
07. Hive (Eddie Bitar Remix) (6:23)
08. Da Doo Da Dah (John Askew Remix) (8:31)
09. Now You See (Darren Porter Remix) (6:34)
10. Way Down In Mexico (Harmonic Rush Remix) (6:40)
11. Diffuse (Des McMahon Remix) (4:25)
12. Kontrast (Roger Wilco Remix) (4:28)

Standout tracks from Disc 1 include:

The exceptional Liquid Drum & Bass offering, Diffuse

The anthemic Original Mix of Da Doo Da Dah

The melodic Reach Out

And the riveting Way Down In Mexico

Similarly, the standout tracks from Disc 2 include:

The dark, techno-filled Alex Di Stefano remix of Unleash

The brilliant Giuseppe Ottaviani Remix of Reach Out

The amazing John Askew remix of Da Doo Da Dah

And the hauntingly beautiful Harmonic Rush remix of Way Down In Mexico

A special mention goes out to the hugely impressive Darren Porter remix of Now You See, which captures the essence of the signature Tyas bassline that was an ever-present element in his older tracks

It is apparent that every track within this two-disc compilation is representative of the blood, sweat and tears that have gone into every Sean Tyas production over the past year and the rewards are there for everyone to see. This album truly is the sound of the Degeneration generation and it is symbolic of the journey and time that has been taken in order to reach this seminal moment.

Sean Tyas – Degeneration will be released on the 19th of February 2016 by the legendary Black Hole Recordings and can be ordered at the following links:

Digital Release: iTunes or Amazon

CD Release: Fine Night or Amazon

They say that the devil is in the details. In the case of Sean Tyas and his Degeneration compilation, it would be wise to prepare yourself to dance with him from dusk till dawn.

Author: Brendan Pillai

Similar posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Lost your password?